Laying it down

What is she feeling?

Moving from reconnecting into reflection on Friday night, Lynette drew attention to a wooden figurine of a woman in a humble position. “I want you to think about what she symbolizes. What do you need to lay down to be here this weekend? If you were in her position, what would you be laying down? How would it feel to be her?”

She then read from Isaiah 43:

1 But now, this is what the LORD says – he who created you, Jacob, he who formed you, Israel: “Do not fear, for I have redeemed you; I have summoned you by name; you are mine.

2 When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze.

3 For I am the LORD your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior.”

After some silent minutes, Phyllis led in prayer. “Father, like the woman on the table, we come before you with a posture of obedience and submission. We have received from Your hand joy and sorrow. We have not received either of those in perfection and we ask your forgiveness for that. We are your servants. Help us to think about you and remember that from you come our strength and our grace. Thank you for being our God.”

Now we see her face.

What do we/should we/can we/must we lay down before Him, right now?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Laying it down

  1. Debbie says:

    In all fairness, I will be the first to answer my own question. Hopefully this will spur more people to comment. I would love for this conversation to continue.

    What I need to lay down is my pride. Too often, I compare myself to others. The result is either that I feel really bad or really good about myself. The first result makes me depressed and the second one makes me conceited. Neither one puts me in the right position before God. In humility I need to come before God. All of my accomplishments are only because of His love and grace and mercy. My only purpose is to serve Him, focus on Him, and glorify Him. Him. Not me. Why do I keep forgetting that? Why do I try to go on my own strength?

  2. Debbie, your comment is very well written. I can identify with everything you said. Pride is so nasty.

  3. Loretta says:

    My roots are in the CMC and I have so appreciated this blog after my Mom introduced me to this site. Right now I need to lay down (again) a complex situation where I do not have the answers. I am praying that God will use it for good, but I continue to feel stressed about it and try to work it all out in my mind. Thank you Lynette for sharing those verses. Truly God is faithful, He knows the end from the beginning and I can rest in Him.

Leave a Reply

