“Women will do anything for their children”

When Elnora’s turn to speak comes, she says: “I especially appreciate Lynette’s comment that women will do anything for their children.”

Elnora did it for her children.

She describes a time when her children were younger, and she experienced a deep depression for six months. “I had my suicide planned.” One night, she was on the kitchen floor, wanting to die. She asked God, ‘If you want me to live, why? Why should I live?’ And she knew the answer: she had two children. She had to live for them.

And there was also a time, she says, when she came close to joining her husband in his lifestyle; she was desperate to keep him. “But I couldn’t do that. I had two children.”

Lynette smiles at her and says, “This is a really different part of your journey. . . God is going to use you.”

Elnora says, “I didn’t want to do this, but I’m glad I’m here now.”

Lynette says, “Sometimes times like this are a reminder of how far we’ve come. I know this is difficult, but there’s a redemptive quality to it. Pray for Elnora. . . .”

And the women gather around and pray for their soft-spoken sister.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

