“I might need help knowing how to tell my story”

Dot begins her part of the discussion by picking up on a comment that was made in connection with Sabrina’s current situation (home with very young children all day): “‘This too shall pass was my mom’s favorite saying.” She goes on to explain that her mother had six kids who were all teenagers at the same time.

“She knew this whole thing of wondering what she was going to do with all these children running around the house. In her later years, she worried about how well she did it. We told her, ‘Mom, you did great!'”

Can you believe she drove a semi?

“I might need help knowing how to tell my story. Maybe I’m not a typical woman who never had children. I never went through the phase of thinking I couldn’t be satisfied with life if I couldn’t have children. We did discuss this before marriage, maybe more than some couples do. What would we do if we couldn’t have children. We made conscious decisions at that point about what we would do.

“I don’t recall, like some women recall, wanting always to grow up and get married and live in a house with a white picket fence and have three or four children or ten. That doesn’t mean we didn’t go through the stage of wanting to have children and knowing that wouldn’t be.

“I remember seeing women who were married and their husbands didn’t want children and they did, and I didn’t want to be that kind of person. That wasn’t beautiful to me: ‘If I can’t have a baby, life is over.’ If we can’t have children I can’t say that my life is over — not that I didn’t want them.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “I might need help knowing how to tell my story”

  1. Rosemary Shirk says:

    You made me laugh when you said you felt like you were lactating! Oh Dot! Martha must have stirred up your hormones. Ha.

    • Dot Chupp says:

      Actually what happened was that my tears had fallen on my bright colored blouse in very “strategic” locations. Someone made the comment about it looking as if I was lactating—Of course I have never done that. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

